Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC)

  • by

Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) is a set of steps and phases in which describe the software from its initiation to deployment and operations. SDLC life cycle in software engineering is a splitting of different software development processes like planning, designing, coding, testing and deployment followed for software development.

SDLC, Software Development Life Cycle is well defined, structured sequence of steps in software engineering to develop high quality intended software.

It is series of planned activities to develop or alter the software product according to customer’s specifications.

It consists of a set of steps or phases in which each phase of the SDLC uses the results of the previous one like to develop intended software application initially requirement is collected, requirement is translated into design, coding is done according to design and testing or verify the deliverable of the implementation phase against requirements.

It is also called as application development life cycle.

Phases included in software development life cycle
1. Planning and Requirement gathering

2. Analysis

3. Design

4. Coding

5. Testing

6. Deployment

7. Maintenance

1. Planning and Requirement gathering -:
Planning about requirement and identification of risk associated with software development. Determine the requirement discussed with manager, stake holder and inputs from customer, departments, market survey, and domain experts. Requirement can be determine with the help of following questions
– Who is going to use

– How they will use

– What data should be input

– What data should be output

2. Analysis -:
Requirements are analyzed for their validity and the possibility integrating requirement to the development. Requirements are segregated into user requirement, system requirement and functional, non functional requirement.
Software Requirement Specifications (SRS) which serves the purpose of guideline for the model.

3. Design -:
Brings down whole knowledge of requirement and analysis to design and define over all system architecture. It serves input to the next phase.

4. Coding -:
Implementation of software design in terms to write suitable, error free and efficiently executable programming code.

5. Testing -:
Tested against the requirement and discover the errors using different types of testing.

6. Deployment -:
Deployed or delivered to the customer for their use.

7. Maintenance -:
After deploy raised problems should be fix or solve from time to time.

Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) Models -:
I] Waterfall model

II] Iterative model

III] Spiral model

IV] V model

V] Big bang model

Leave a Reply